Gun crimes are serious in Florida; the sale and possession of a gun is strictly illegal without a valid license, no matter the number of firearms. If you’ve been charged with a gun crime in Florida, your future is at risk. How you approach your defense can make all the difference in the penalties you receive.
Weapons Crimes in Florida
Whether you have been accused of the sale or possession of one gun or 100 guns, you are most likely faced with a felony charge. There are several ways you could be charged with a gun crime in Florida, with the potential punishment varying from a first-degree misdemeanor for carrying a weapon without a license to a first-degree felony for discharging a machine gun in a public place with the intent to do harm.
Common firearm crimes in Dade City include:
- Discharge of a firearm at a school
- Carrying an unlicensed or concealed weapon
- Giving or allowing minors access to guns
- Illegal possession by a felon
- Illegal exhibition of firearms
Punishments For Gun Crimes in Florida
Depending on the severity of the charge, Florida mandates harsh penalties for firearm crimes.
Misdemeanor gun crimes may impose:
- 60 days to 1 year in jail
- Up to 1 year of probation
- Fines of $5000 to $1,000
Felony firearm charges may incur:
- Up to five years in prison
- Up to five years of probation
- Up to $5,000 in fines
Contact a Dade City Gun Crime Attorney
When you need aggressive representation, turn to Keeley Karatinos at Karatinos Law, PLLC. She is committed to finding justice for her clients in Dade City, Zephyrhills, Wesley Chapel, and Pasco County.
Defender of the Constitution
Legal Researcher and Writer